Masterbuilt, Smoke Hallow, or? Newbie here!

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

TSR6

Fire Starter
Original poster
Jul 20, 2018
I've dabbled in smoking meat on my gas grill, and think its time for a smoker.

I'm considering the Masterbuilt 40-Inch Electric Smoker w/ Bluetooth

or

Smoke Hollow Smoke-Tronix 40-Inch Digital Electric Bluetooth Smoker

Any comments on one over the other? I'd sure like to save the $180 difference in price if there's not a large difference between the two. Any other units I should consider?

Mes 40 BT. There's no problem that can't be solved with the wealth of knowledge here on SMF.

The MB is likely the most popular. The electronics are the weak link. Regardless of your choice budget in an AMNPS and a good separate digital remote therm.

I suggest a Masterbuilt as well..I got a 40 inch masterbuilt adventurer series and I love it over my old Brinkmann fallapart water smoker. Though an AMNPS and good digital remote thermal probe as Browneyesvictim said are very much so worth an investment. You can't do shorter cooks with out the AMNPS, but having done pork butts with out one now, I can say be prepared for it to go alot longer then planned and you not to sleep properly.

I also suggest considering your own cover; the one I got with masterbuilt on the brand on it isn't really that good. Sure isn't water proof despite costing me 30 bucks.

I knew on the thermometer - but whats the deal with the "amnps" thing?
http://www.amazenproducts.com/product_p/amnps5x8.htm

It's a pellet burner tray for smokers, it lets you get 8-12 hours of smoke on one load. So you don't need to keep refilling every half hour. I use it for overnight smoking. You can also cold smoke with it.