Hanger Steak, Chicken, and Shrimp Taco Bar w/qview

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

bmudd14474

Legendary Pitmaster
Original poster
Staff member
Administrator
OTBS Member
★ Lifetime Premier ★
Jun 1, 2008
Florida
Last night we had family in town from the west coast that we haven't seen since we moved a little over a year ago. Well there were 17 of us and there are lots of allergies so Taco's it was as it was easy to do for a crowd and easy for the allergies.

Started around noon with prep. For the beef I used a cut of steak that I have never used before. Hanger Steak. I was at a local ranch's store that I get my tri tip from and they had Hanger Steak on sale so after googling uses for it I decided what the heck why not. I took some time to learn about Hanger steak and where it was from. Also learned how to process it which was interesting as well. Here is a video on it if your interested.

I failed to take pictures of after I butchered it. This was around 4lbs of meat after I butchered it down. Here it is in the marinade with pineapple juice, garlic, cumin, paprika, chili powder, and onion powder.
Screenshot 2023-11-04 095046.png

Then I took 6lbs of boneless skinless chicken thighs and clean the fat off of it. Put it in a marinade with orange juice, limeade, cumin, garlic, chili powder, and onion powder. Here it is resting in a ziplock
Screenshot 2023-11-04 095205.png

After this I took the time to can a batch of BBQ sauce because I was doing a bunch of prep. Had the sauce at 150° then into the jars to seal up.
Screenshot 2023-11-04 095231.png