First attempt at jerky...

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

steve o

Original poster
Jan 2, 2010
Four pounds of London Broil Round.

I trimmed the fat, cut thin and against the grain, and it is now marinating in Newman's Own Honey Terriyaki marinade.

Not sure if I should use any smoke or if I should just cook it at like 140 for 4+ hours.

I don't know what type of wood I would want to burn though. I think I have some apple wood that might taste nice? I don't know. I am a newb.

apple should be fine, keep your temperatures very low - 140 or lower, if possible. go LIGHT on the smoke becuase it is easy to get too much, especially considering jerky which is meant to dry out and shrink and condense in its flavors.

curious about your decision to cut against the grain. nothing rong with doing so, but most jerky is cut with the grain for a chewier, more jerky-like texture. any reaosn in particular?

either way, i think you're in for some good stuff!

I didn't decide to do this until I got out of work early today so my preparation was limited. I called a friend who makes a lot of jerky but he couldn't talk long and said only what type of meat to get.

I pulled up one article on my iPhone and it said to cut against the grain for a chewey texture.

Just checked. Out of apple. I have Cherry, Maple, and Alder.

Maple is my first instinct of those three.

no problems at all, i've done it both ways and to me it tastes all the same. cutting with the grain tends to make it more chewy, against the grain tends to be easier to chew - either way, it's all good ~