I just bought this thing for $15 and have no idea how to use it (a smoker I was told)

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

Cayaco

Original poster
May 24, 2020
Hello!

Starting in the new forum as I am new and I just bought this thing from someone in town for $15 and I do not know how to use it as I have never used a smoker before myself. It is open at the bottom and there are no vents anywhere. A lid, two bowls of some kind. I figure for $15 if I can make it work and cook something I will be happy, but I do not know where to begin or what I am supposed to do. My thought process in this whole thing was "$15, yeah why not" and now that its home I realized I did not think this whole thing through.

Here are all the pictures:
VOr6SpO.jpg

XHUXGqN.jpg

O59LAq8.jpg

hKCE7tI.jpg

1o6AtZz.jpg

Put the charcoal bowl in along with charcoal and a few chunks of hickory, set the water pan in it and fill with hot water, start the fire without using lighter fluid, leave lid off till its roaring along, wipe grates down with oil and load meat on, ck in about 6 hours on the fuel and water level, don't open the lid, hopefully you have a remote probe to tell you when what ever is cooking is done, had 1 for years and never worried about temps. you will get your $ worth out of it

Here is a YouTube link that should give you the basics of how it works. As far as temp and fire management maybe someone that uses these will chime in and help you in that department.

Reactions: forktender