• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

Rob Petersen

Original poster
May 17, 2018
Randall MN
hi so I am new to fermenting sausage and have never tried to do it before. I was reading a recipe a while back for tangy summer sausage and mentioned it needed to ferment. I was just curious as to what is the process to ferment summer sausage. I’m not new to making sausage because I am a head sausage maker at my local butcher shop, I just have never trieda fermentation process

As I understand, and this is from me reading as I plan to do it my self some day, you use Pink Salt 2 for a start, and then need the bacteria spray etc. Then it sits in a climate controlled enviroment to properly the good bacteria etc etc. I'd just snag up a book on this one. This is where I shy away from reading internet articles and get a book from a professional.

I just never heard of fermented summer sausage my self..

Out of curiousity; toss the link up? If it means ferment and then it says 1-2 days, that is still pink salt 1 time, it's more to let the flavours meld. I'm now curious to see the recipe my self!

RP, You would have to add a starter culture and cure #2( instead of #1). One of our sausage experts, Nepas would know the best culture to use. I add Fermento to my SS to give it that tangy flavor without having to go through all the extra work. It is then just smoked as normal and has tasty results.

You can use fermento as crazymoon says to emulate a fermented flavor without actually going to the trouble of fermenting it. I use encapsulated citric acid (ECA) which does the same thing. I just made 7 pounds of summer sausage snack sticks this past weekend.