Would like to say hello

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

wh42

Fire Starter
Original poster
Jul 4, 2013
NY
Hey guys,
Haven't posted here yet but have been lurking. I would like to introduce myself. A little background on me;
I grew up in a family that cooked all the time
My grandmother was a professional chef and I learned from her
Since the age of 8 I spent my time after school in restaurant kitchens learning
I am currently an executive chef and help maintain 15 restaurants
Cooking/smoking/baking/anything food are my passion
I try to instill this passion into my 2 daughters, they help me every step of the way for all meals and everything I make is from scratch as much as possible

I'm from way way upstate NY, like Canadian border upstate, I started cooking at 18 and at 22 was a sous chef under a man who graduated from the culinary institute of America and spent 20 years in France and the Ukraine. I pride myself in trying new things and putting my own spin on things as well. I am here to learn and provide input. I have been smoking meats and cheeses on my own for a few years now and aim to better that aspect of my expertise as well as provide insight where I can. I appreciate any criticism and advice, and am happy to have found a dedicated community like this.

-wh42 or Ben

Happy to give any insight I possibly can Al! I've read a lot of your threads and have done your ribs once and actually have a batch resting waiting to enter the smoker today that I'm going to have a good thread for.

Glad to be here banderson7474 and am always happy to provide insight and experience!