What type smoker to buy

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

Hank151

Original poster
Oct 1, 2018
Hi all Im relatively new at smoking meat I started about 5 yrs ago on my primo ceramic kamodo grill and I really enjoy it, And I feel like it’s time to upgrade I’m torn between a Lang 36 patio and possibly a Pitmaker safe smoker I know there two totally different styles of grills. One minute I think I have my mind made up and I come across some negative reviews and the next minute I come across negative reviews of the other one. I’m really not sure which way to go anymore lol. This rig will be used solely in the yard for a small family. I’m open to other brands also can’t hurt to confuse me anymore ha. Any advice guys and gals have on either one of these toys or others I should look at is greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance Hank

Reactions: SonnyE
Both work well. Me, I'm old and can't fuss with refinishing and rust removal. I have looked hard at the Vault as I think there would be less maintenhance on the exterior...JJ

Hi thanks for the reply Chefjimmy I think I’m leaning towards the pit master safe would be plenty enough grill for my needs. Anyone on here have experience with this rig I hear a lot of people’s cons about them is there hard to maintain 225.

The Lang 36 is a costly rig, but is supposed to be the top of it's class. I'd like one persay, but simply don't have the $$$$ to justify the purchase

I really haven't heard to many negatives about either. Both will do what you want, but I'll toss out another choice that is well represented on the forum. How about looking into the WSM. It comes in 3 sizes and is probably one of the better bang for your buck smokers out there.

Chris

Reactions: Widowmaker
Hank,