Tri Tip

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

jlud

Smoke Blower
Original poster
Mar 16, 2019
I’m new to the west coast and this particular cut. Got two prime ones for tomorrow as some company coming over. I plan to use cattleman’s grill California Tri Tip seasoning, putting it on about an hour before the smoker. Plan to put it at 225 until about 140ish or medium rare temp....

Anything missing or that I need to do differently? Anything special to prep other than right out of package and season? Thanks!

That should be fine. Some prefer the reverse sear where you finish over high heat to get a crust on that joker. What are you cooking on?

You could reverse sear it, but I'm actually not a fan of the way it creates a contrast between the outer 1/4 inch or more and the rest of it. If I want a good seared steak then I'll fire up the grill and grill it.

Some people inject, but you can do either or. Depending on how much smoke you want, you can start your temperatures much lower (140º-150º range) and then bump it up in increments throughout the smoke to give it more time in the sauna.

This is another preference thing, but I like mine sliced real thin when it's done.

Doing it on the Yoder 640. Good info on reverse sear and keeping it lower longer, think I’ll keep it simple for company’s sake in case I destroy it somehow...I’ll go maybe 200 range for a while then to get some more flavor. Thanks!

Make sure to slice it right, there are good youtube vids for it, there's 3 (at least) different directions you need to cut. Good luck, very tasty piece o meat!

Great suggestion on the leftovers and thin slicing....especially the horseradish. Sounded good...