New to Traeger… help

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

meldes

Original poster
Jan 16, 2024
I recently purchased a model TFV88PZ Traeger. I’m not necessarily new to pellet grills but I am new to this brand. I’ve smoked a lot of tri-tips and usually smoke them at about 225 for an 1 1/2 hours. I looked up online some tips on smoking tri-tips on the Traeger and it said a 3 to 5 pound trI-tip at 225 should take about an hour to 1 1/2 hours as well. Twice now, I’ve smoked one and three-quarter pound tri-tip (very small) and it’s taken almost 3 hours or more. I’m not sure what I’m doing wrong, but was wondering if it could be the pellets. I’m using a Costco brand pellet. Also any tips on smoking tri-tips n general would be great.

Reactions: JLeonard
Welcome. I would not think the pellet brand would influence much. Do you have at least a double probe therm? One for the meat and one probe for ambient cooker temp? I would follow the temp with therm first. Times published on the net/recipe guides etc have too many variables. Your wind, chamber temp, meat size etc could all be different than what is written down somewhere. You can cook it to your desired temp. Meat does not care about my time, I need to adjust to it. Part of the fun and challenge.

Welcome to the group from New Mexico.
Don't trust what the Traeger controller temp says.
As B BigW. said, get a probe (from a thermometer you trust) on the grate that the meat is on.
You can find out how accurate or inaccurate your controller reading is.
1-1/2 hours seems fast at 225. I would expect the 3+ hours to be more normal.
Maybe what you were cooking on before was actually higher than 225 which is why you got done in 1-1/2 hours.

Last edited: