The not so after life

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

azgramps

Original poster
Dec 26, 2012
Sierra Vista, Arizona, USofA
So I was just thinking about my departure from society and I have chosen to be cremated after they farm my internal parts for other people. But it got me wondering if I can pre-select the wood they will use and perhaps provide the rub with of course instructions on temperature and time.

I am thinking a Cajun seasoning rub over Apple or Pecan (maybe a bit of both) at about 185 for 9-10 hours would do the trick.

LOL great question. I have no experience with creamation but everytime I see it on tv they are sliding a perfectly good casket into the flames. Therefore, pick out a casket ahead of time made of whatever wood you desire......I'm thinking a Hickory box with an apple lid at the moment..
th_violent5.gif

Last edited:
Not long ago I was on a job site. The drilling crew that I hired made a comment about a building a block away. It had a couple of really high end exhaust vents comming out of the roof. When they started smoking the crew made a comment about them. I asked them what kind of business it was and they told me it was a funeral home with a crematorium. I was amazed over the next two days how often the two smoke stacks would start smoking and then quit. It really made me think while I was on the jobsite.

BTW- They don't go low and slow but they do produce a lot of TBS.

Here's an interesting tidbit from the National Funeral Directors Association. (NFDA.org)

What happens during the cremation process?