Smoking fish flavor after previous smoke

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

smokinmikey

Fire Starter
Original poster
Apr 26, 2017
Southern CAL Palm Desert
I am a total newbie using an electric Meco stainless bullet. I smoked a filet salmon which turned out good. I smoked a brisket a few days later and it tasted like salmon ! This is a smoker I used as a BBQ with charcoal to do steaks, etc. Do other people have this problem or do you use separate smokers. I really don't want to buy another smoker.

I personally don’t like using my meat smoker for fish. I have a separate smoker for fish. You could use your meat smoker for fish but you would have to really clean it out after use.

One year I had very much salmon fillets and ended up smoking 70 pounds of fillets over a weekend. I was mad after that at myself because I had to clean all the seasoning off my Pit with oven cleaner. After 3 cooks I couldn’t get that flavor out till I stripped it down. Then again with that amount of drippings of oily fish, it had to smell!!!!!

Some folks on here say that doesn't happen.... Well 30+ years ago, it happened to me... sooooooo, now I have a dedicated fish smoker... the same one from 30+ years ago... and I have about 6 meat smokers.... Time for a new smoker that's dedicated to meat... Keep the fish smoker... Join the group of fish smoking loyalists...

I'm one of those "One Smoker Fitz All" types.
If your next smoke has a fish taste, you are not using enough Cyan pepper.
I like enough Cyan so everybody gripes about that, and nobody mentions anything about "fishy tastes". ;)
Decoys. :rolleyes:

I use Dave's idea of sterilizing my smoker before, and after. So that might help to "burn it out".