Salmon rub

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

gwest77

Smoke Blower
Original poster
Sep 4, 2012
Cartersville,Georgia
Hello everyone,

I'm kind of new to smoking meat etc. My grandfather used to smoke his own pork hams and bacon when I was knee high to a grasshopper but I didn't pay attention then. I'm looking for a good rub to put on salmon and let it sit how ever long need be to be able to smoke it at a low temp for a few hours. Like I said I'm new to slow smoking meat but not at the grill. I'd be grateful for some good ideas from all of you fine folks here at this forum.

gwest, morning and welcome to the forum....  Salmon has a delicate flavor and IMHO too much seasoning takes away from the fish....  Personally, I would make a salt brine and add cure# 1, garlic, onion, sugar and white pepper....  remove from the brine, rinse, dry and set in front of a fan for several hours until the pellicle forms really well....   Then smoke at 120 deg for a few hours and raise the temp to 160 until the IT of the fish is 140 ish....   Dave

There is a show on cable TV called "Yukon Men". The show is about a few self sufficient families in Alaska. Several  times during the show they film a smoking shed filled with long shiny halves of smoked salmon. I wonder how they process their fish for season long storage. The program also shows how they catch salmon in giant scoops that look like the paddle wheels on the old river boats.