Profile on Norman Dials

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

norman dials

Original poster
Mar 1, 2012
I was born in Columbus, GA on 11/11/38, but left when 12 years old as father was in military and we moved fairly often.  Graduated from high school in Panama, Canal Zone in 1957 and attended Valley Forge Military Academy and the USC in Columbia, SC where graduated in 1961.

Upon graduation, moved to Charlotte, NC where I worked as an internal auditor for a Bank, then entered the field of Investment securities where I worked for 12 years.  Started my own business in commercial printing until leaving Charlotte in 1986, then going to Charleston,SC where I met my wife.  Retired in 1997 and moved from Charleston to Bakersville, NC in the western NC. mountains where we presently live.

Became interested in smoker cooking quite by accident and this has happened very recently.  Could never cook any meats that had any flavor, even on the grill, so I decided to try smoker cooking.......and.....will probably buy my first smoker next week and it will be the vertical electrical model with the glass door, remote control, etc.  Been searching for a smoker cook book but with absolutely no success, so we tried the internet---thus, this website!