Newbie in the Nati

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

goaliewars

Original poster
Jul 17, 2014
Hello all. Tim here.  I'm in Ohio just north of Cincinnati.  I am very new to the smoking world so to speak. I worked for a rib joint who smoked their own ribs on site in a massive smoker and I always loved them compared to the competitors. I began playing with smoke on my gas grill using a smoker box and was really happy with the results I was getting, but I always knew that  needed to take the leap and get a smoker if I ever hoped to reach the level of a true smoke master.  Plus I have already went through 5 tanks of propane this summer and 7 in 7 months.  I know the purists are gonna give me slack, but I bought a dual fuel (propane/charcoal) box yest.  I know more propane, but the option to fall back in my comfort zone if needed made me feel all warm inside.   Anyway, I could not wait to try it out.  I seasoned it and put on some chx breasts and bacon wrapped asparagus yest.  using a mixture of mesquite and apple.  Both cooked a little long.  Chx was a little dry on the outside and asparagus was a little too soft for me, but hey it was my first try.  I did not use a mop sauce which was part of my issue and just not knowing my box yet was another.  And yes, I know, being a newbie was my bigest hurdle, but that is why I am joining you all here.  I bought a remote dual thermometer today to manage my smoker temp mainly since i am not really sure I will ever actually need the food temp, but better safe than sorry I suppose.  So I just rubbed 3 racks of spare ribs and put them in the fridge for the night.  Tomorrow I am going for the gold and smoking ribs, lobster tails and ABT.  Making some other sides as well.  Hope all goes