New to Pellet Smokers -- Need Advice on which one to buy....

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

theschiznit

Original poster
Mar 14, 2017
San Diego, California
Hi All, I've been using a stick burner for several years and looking for a set and it and forget pellet smoker.  I'm killing myself in research and can't make a decision. Looking to spend right around $1,000 and if I buy another smoker after this one, the wife may hurt me. My main criteria is i'm looking for something that could 6 racks of ribs flat, enough clearance to put in a Turkey or stand up some beer butt chickens (not all at the same time), decent smoke flavor and consistent temp. I have mainly been looking at The Traeger Pro Series 34 Blue, GMG Jim Bowie and the Louisiana Grills LG1100.  Also been toying with the Yoder YS640 but its a little more than I want to spend. 

Treager Pro: It's been the defacto for a long time it seems, know folks who have em and love em, 2 meat probes

Traeger Cons: Seems like the more hardcore pellet smokers don't love the brand and heard about auger jams, bad customer support and other equipment failures

GMG Pro: I like how tall the main box is, wifi is a nice addon, good price point

GMG Cons: Doesn't seem sturdy

Louisiana Grills Pro: Good amount of cooking surface, lots of add-on options, i like the air flow for smoke in the back

Louisiana Grills Cons: Just painted and heard it rusts, inconsistent temps, not fan that that fire is on the side vs center so concerned about even temp across the cooking area

Yoder: Still researching but seems like a good option. Not sure many racks of ribs i could get on there but heard the smoke is good and looks really solid.