Pellet smoker advice?

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

robthetreeman

Original poster
Feb 26, 2024
I’ve been cooking and smoking for awhile on my kettle Joe and love it. But I do need more space and sometimes a little more convenience. I’m still very new to the whole BBQ thing but I like buying quality stuff. My budget is about $1,000. I’ve been looking at recteq and grilla smokers. From what I understand these brands separate themselves from the ones found in big box stores.

Another thing I was considering is a vertical feed charcoal smoker but it seems they are known for cheap build quality.

If you had a $1,000 to spend what would it be?

Reactions: JLeonard
IMO, snab a camp chef for $400-500. You will only get so much smoke with pellet grills (you will get a richer flavor with your kettle joe). Camp chef is great because they work extremely well and have the side kick option which can make for some great gassing.

I personally wouldn't want to spend more than $500 for any pellet grill when they are so far behind in smoke flavor. Convienence is what they offer, although if your kettle joe is anything like a weber smoky mountain, I'd say those are pretty close to convienent too. Sure, it's not push a button convienent, but it is pretty close to set it and forget. I totally get it though that it's nice to push a button, then toss a pizza on it within 10 minutes rather than starting from lump. About all I use my pellet grill anymore is for 1) pizza, 2) fish, or general "make all this stuff warm" use cases. I actually use the side kick more!