Need help with ideal jerky thickness

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

73saint

Master of the Pit
Original poster
OTBS Member
SMF Premier Member
Mar 8, 2017
Near New Orleans La
I’m still fairly new to making jerky, but I’m hooked. I’ve been using my Lang warmer box, and have really enjoyed experimenting with various recipes. One thing, I’ve yet to get the ideal thickness down pat. First time, meat was too thick and it took forever to make. This last time, I cut it too thin. I use a berkel slicer, and I do temper the meat before slicing. But can anyone tell me the ideal setting for thickness on a berkel?

thanks in advance!

I tried measuring out 1/4" on my berkel. Literally put a tape measure to the blade/gap. That was the batch that was too thick, but I will try it again. Thanks!

I tried measuring out 1/4" on my berkel. Literally put a tape measure to the blade/gap. That was the batch that was too thick, but I will try it again. Thanks!
Might have to watch how hard you push against the fence when slicing . I know you said you par freeze , just thinking .
I go just under a 1/4 .

Reactions: 73saint
Anyone know what 1/4" is on a Berkel? I believe the measurements are mm's. So would that be 2.5? Don't laugh....

OK I get that but if I go to 6.35 on the Berkel, that's waaaaay too thick. Maybe not, maybe it was the pressure I put on the fence. Will try again tonight.

I'm betting you are putting too much pressure on the fence. Been there/done that.

I'm betting you are putting too much pressure on the fence. Been there/done that.

What slicer you have? I have a Hobart and I cant move the fence by pushing on it. I bet Berkel is the same.

I am not challenging you just thinking ..