Monterey Chicken and Smoked Bourbon Pecan Pies

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

TNJAKE

Epic Pitmaster
Original poster
OTBS Member
SMF Premier Member
Nov 26, 2019
Ridgetop TN🇺🇸
Happy Independence Day to the Americans and good evening non Americans. Bittersweet holiday for me. I'm a combat vet and love America but with severe PTSD I cower to fireworks. Hate them. I got out of Army in 2008 and haven't shot fireworks with my 4 kids since. So 2 sons and one daughter are at friends tonight so they can get their freedom on. Oldest daughter is a loyalist and won't leave dad to suffer alone. She's my favorite. So just me, wife and Shelby today. We had Monterey chicken, smoked bourbon pecan pies and loaded tater salad. I'll start with the pies.

Wife made these up and I smoked them at 350 for an hour using pecan
IMG_20200704_195333.jpg

i sipped some makers mark after she opened it
IMG_20200704_152401.jpg

after an hour off the smoker to cool
IMG_20200704_163659.jpg

smelled and tasted heavenly

Afterwards got the chicken seasoned
IMG_20200704_180354.jpg
IMG_20200704_163014.jpg

and onto the smoker to grill. Also put on 2 cast iron skillets my wife recently bought me coated in bacon grease to get heated while chicken grilled
IMG_20200704_181050.jpg

Once chicken hot 155 IT I put 2 in each cast iron pan and added half cup each of Puckett's spicy BBQ sauce in each skillet( it's a local restaurant in Nashville)
IMG_20200704_180404.jpg
IMG_20200704_184627.jpg

Let that go till they hit 165. I gtated fresh Monterey Jack and sharp cheddar. 4oz each. Cooked 10 slices of thick cut apple wood bacon and cut up some green onions. Took them off and added cheese and bacon and back on the grill to melt
IMG_20200704_185604.jpg