Last minute change of plans

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

PamAndJim

Original poster
Nov 10, 2017
Hey BBQ fam. I had planned to smoke a brisket and 2 pork shoulders for a softball tournament this weekend. I unpacked, trimmed, and rubbed them all only to find out that the tournament has been cancelled. They are wrapped tightly in plastic wrap now. If I wrap them in a couple layers of foil, can I toss them in the freezer for a few weeks until the next tournament? Not sure how everything will hold up outside of the cryo wrap.

• Sad
Reactions: Fueling Around
Bummer for sure. I am no expert on this. I think a couple like 2 weeks is no issue. if a few becomes like 8 weeks Im not sure. I am confident others will have better advice.

You could smoke the brisket and butts as planned , pull the the butts then freeze them for later if you have a vacuum sealer. Eat teh brisket this weekend and get another for the tourney?

First Don't Panic! Follow Sandyrut's reply.

Cook, cool, slice/pull for serving, pre-freeze, vac-seal/Ziploc, label and freeze.

Something that might be different for you is after cooling the meat is place the sliced/pulled meat single layer on a parchment or butcher paper lined flat tray & freeze for about 1 hour then bag. Helps reduce the moisture in the bag and gives a better freeze on the meat.

Of course - LABEL THE BAGS!!!! I can't remember what I put in the freezer immediately after I bag it let alone a week! 🤦‍♂️🍻
John

Edit: Forgot the transport/reheat aspect. Transport the frozen meats in a cooler with ice, pack a an extension cord or two and reheat the foods in a pressure cooker(s)/slow cooker or in a pot on a grill to a safe internal temp. Makes everything compact and safe. John

Last edited: