• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.

In Need Of Some Techy Help

SWFLsmkr1

Epic Pitmaster
Staff member
Moderator
OTBS Member
★ Lifetime Premier ★
Group Lead
11,437
5,941
Joined Dec 25, 2010
I want to set up another router, would like wireless wifi in 2.4ghz.
My daughter has the google mesh wifi hooked up.
From what i read the google mesh is 2.4 & 5 ghz. Couple of my wifi items work better on 2.4. (like my weather station app on my phone)
The google setup say to just go further out from the wifi to hook up to your app on phone? Dont happen.
20211021_104201.jpg


Here is the problem.

Only 1 ethernet port on the modem.
20211021_104227.jpg


What do i need to give me another ethernet port or a few of em?
 

SmokinAl

SMF Hall of Fame Pitmaster
Staff member
Moderator
OTBS Member
★ Lifetime Premier ★
48,773
8,998
Joined Jun 22, 2009
You can buy a Ethernet splitter, it will give you 6 ports, or 4 ports, or whatever you need. You just plug your one cable into the in side & plug as many things as you want into the other side. Easy Peazy!
Al
 

SWFLsmkr1

Epic Pitmaster
Staff member
Moderator
OTBS Member
★ Lifetime Premier ★
Group Lead
11,437
5,941
Joined Dec 25, 2010
Thanks Al.

Would that be the same thing as a ethernet switch with 5 ports?
 

OldSmoke

Meat Mopper
SMF Premier Member
293
436
Joined Sep 5, 2020
A switch or hub will work. A switch can give better performance. Get good quality CAT 6 cables.

Most internet connected home devices (switches, thermostats, plugs, security) use only the 2.4 ghz frequency. 2.4 ghz gives better range although it is slower than the 5 ghz radio. For these devices, fast speeds offered by 5 ghz is not an issue since they don’t send a lot of data.

I looked at your router online. I think it has both 2.4 and 5 ghz bands.
 
Last edited:

pushok2018

Master of the Pit
SMF Premier Member
1,966
913
Joined Oct 12, 2017
Yes, I am pretty sure you can use a simple ethernet switch for that purpose.... Just make sure to connect a cable from your router to uplink port of your switch. The uplink port should be identified on the switch you use...
 

mcokevin

Smoking Fanatic
SMF Premier Member
375
365
Joined Oct 18, 2016
I'm not fully following what you are trying to do, but if you are looking for a simple switch I recommend this. It is cheap and works very well. I use one of these in my entertainment setup for the Apple TV, Xbox, Receiver, and TV Tuner.
 

mcokevin

Smoking Fanatic
SMF Premier Member
375
365
Joined Oct 18, 2016
Another thing to look at - the mesh routers usually have a couple of network ports on them, probably labeled 1 and 2.

You can connect port 1 to the router, then take whatever is plugged in to the router now and connect it to port 2.

You will probably want to put one of the routers (either the router from the cable company, or the google mesh) into bridge mode, otherwise it will create two separate networks within your house.
 

Winterrider

Master of the Pit
OTBS Member
★ Lifetime Premier ★
4,274
2,476
Joined Sep 29, 2018
That just confused me :emoji_head_bandage:
Techy I'm not
 

tallbm

Smoking Guru
OTBS Member
★ Lifetime Premier ★
5,739
2,747
Joined Dec 30, 2016
Thanks Al.

Would that be the same thing as a ethernet switch with 5 ports?
Here's the ethernet switch I buy and works like a charm, no issues ever.

amazon" style="max-width:120px">
I imagine the 5 port and the less expensive ones probably work just as well.

This will give you enough ports if you need more ports.
Can't help too much with the mesh, the distance thing, etc. having a switch is handy no matter what :)
 

SWFLsmkr1

Epic Pitmaster
Staff member
Moderator
OTBS Member
★ Lifetime Premier ★
Group Lead
11,437
5,941
Joined Dec 25, 2010
Thanks everyone.

I ended up getting a netgear 5 port switch for $24.99

Next is the wifi router which is more $$

The google wifi only has 1 port
 

tallbm

Smoking Guru
OTBS Member
★ Lifetime Premier ★
5,739
2,747
Joined Dec 30, 2016
Thanks everyone.

I ended up getting a netgear 5 port switch for $24.99

Next is the wifi router which is more $$

The google wifi only has 1 port
Before you get the wifi router you will want to ensure that it is on the list of supported wifi routers by your Internet Service Provider.

In Texas the Spectrum provider has a list of supported wifi routers somewhere on their website. I'm just trying to help you ensure you don't buy a router that you then have to return :D

For general info.
Internet comes to your home wall and will go in one of the two following ways:

1. Home wall -> Modem->Router->Device
2. Home wall -> Modem->Router->Switch->Device

I hope all this info helps :)
 

Latest posts

Top Bottom
  AdBlock Detected

We noticed that you're using an ad-blocker, which could block some critical website features. For the best possible site experience please take a moment to disable your AdBlocker.