How to get bark or heavy smoke flavor on Old Smokey Electric Unit?

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

Electric Rookie

Original poster
Dec 28, 2021
Newbie here. I just purchased an Old Smokey electric smoker. There are no vents or air flow. I smoked a butt at 225 for 11 hours. Wrapped it around 170 in foil. Threw it in a cooler once the temp hit 203. Is it possible to get a good bark or a heavy smoke flavor on this device? The meat was perfectly tender, but only tastes lightly smokey.

Welcome aboard.

From the instructions on their website it seems like this smoker was designed to keep moisture (in the form of steam) and smoke inside the chamber, instead of a more traditional design that would have some sort of air intake and exhaust. At first look, it sounds to me like the food would be cooking in steam and stale smoke, but it sounds like the smoker has been around for a while and has a lot of positive reviews.

Are there small vents to give air to the pan of chips? And what is the procedure for adding more chips?

Last edited:
I bought one years ago. I did not like the moisture from the lid dripping on food and really no good way to get good smoke flavor. Also make sure you clean after every use. The unit is completely sealed and I forgot one time and the whole inside was moldy from top to bottom. I just recently threw it in the trash. More of an oven than anything. It did make tender meat from the steam it produces. Good Luck.

Last edited:
Use their BBQ pit all the time. Got it down to an art now lol. Never knew they made an electric smoker, hope it gets worked out for you.