Hot plate cutout

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

timoteo

Original poster
Jun 22, 2014
Hi, I live in southern Spain. I'm completely new to smoking. I've built a small plywood smoker( approx 1 m x 40 x40) but I have a problem with the hot plate ... it cuts out just as smoke starts to get going. Obviously it's a safety cutout. My question is can I bypass the cutout? Or are there special hotplates for smokers?

Can you bypass the shut off ? yes. Would i recommend it ? no would i do it if it was mine ? yes.

If you bypass the cut-out, the increased temp of the hot plate could melt all the other stuff on the hot plate and start a fire and possibly poisonous fumes if the "stuff" is some sort of high temp plastic.... You can strip the hot plate of stuff that will melt and build a metal framework..... That takes some skill and an understanding of electric wiring...... and VERY POSSIBLY an electric shock hazard which can be deadly....

I have done the hot plate mod on one of my smokers....

click on pics to enlarge

Last edited:
Thanks guys, so far you've scared me off! I don't think I'll go down this avenue just yet - electricity was never my strong subject. What about a small gas ring? Fire hazard? Does smoke combust easily?

Thanks guys, so far you've scared me off! I don't think I'll go down this avenue just yet - electricity was never my strong subject. What about a small gas ring? Fire hazard? Does smoke combust easily?