Food Safety Question: Low and too slow?

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.

ok to finish?

• Get it to temp, will be fine

Votes: 3 100.0%
  • Likely dangerous and I have first hand experience

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • No idea

Votes: 0 0.0%

• Total voters
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

jdsegra

Original poster
Jul 22, 2021
Hey there. Newb to the forum, but I've been smoking for a few years. (mods, please forgive me if this is the wrong location) Have a food safety question that I need help with. Hopefully there's a food safety nerd or two on here.

I have a pellet smoker. Ideal temp for generating smoke is 165 due to the pellet. I tend to put the meat on at night at 165, bump it to 225 in the morning, and time the wrap to have it ready by dinner time.

Cooking a brisket and a couple of pork shoulders for a large group. Put the brisket on the bottom (which was probably a mistake) and the shoulders up top. Cook is progressing much slower than normal. Meat went on around 8:00, I woke up around 1AM and checked it, and was way behind schedule. Generally I'm around the 140-150s and was likely around 90-110.

At 6AM generally at the stall, and I'm at 135ish. Bumped up my temp to 225. I'll probably wrap earlier, but still have plenty of time to finish the cook. Plan is to get it to 203, wrap it, hold it for at least 2 hours in a cooler, serve.

I'm concerned that it's gone two slow and I'm going to make everyone sick. I've searched several forums and heard everything from "I lost my fire overnight and it was fine" to antidotes about "when it doubt throw it out."
Should I be concerned? Does it matter if I make it to temp and hold it there?

Looking for first hand experience or someone with a food science background if possible.

Thanks everyone for your help.