First attempt at Making Venison Smoked Sausage

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

jhamm

Original poster
Nov 17, 2016
Ok this is my first time making smoked sausage. I read a lot of threads on here when i started playing with the idea of doing this. I used pecan wood for smoke started at 120 degrees for a couple hours then slowly raised temp to around 180- 190 over the next three hours. to an IT of 165 on sausage. how does it look? what can I improve? I am not sensitive so be brutal if need be. I want to get better. I also plan on building a smoke house in the yard 4x4x8 from plywood likely. I raise pigs and hunt so want to be able to do all my own processing.

80% Venison 20% Pork ( Used Butt Roast) and an Andouille seasoning

13" Oklahoma Joe with upright chamber only hold about 10-15 pounds of sausage at a time. So I had to do 3 batches to smoke all the sausage I made. 5 hours each batch.

smoke in the pit

step by step pictures

Finished product

Cross cut view of sausage

Looks great and your process looks to be good,,, On my smoker I go as hi as 170 smoker temp don't want to get fat out started,,,, Looks very lean and tasty,

Great job = POINT 

A full smoker is a happy smoker 

DS

JH, looks real good sir ! 
points.gif

Looks tasty! Like DS said avoid going higher than 170°. I will admit that sometimes I will kick up the smoker to 180°. Above that you'll risk fat out. Pecan is a great choice. I really like to mix it with cherry 50/50.

Points!