cure question

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

smokerjim

Smoking Guru
Original poster
OTBS Member
SMF Premier Member
Jan 14, 2014
Northeast pa
I have been using pops brine for a couple years now for bacon,ham, venison ham, and it always comes out great but I've never tried a dry cure, I'm looking for a good proven dry cure for some buck board bacon.anyone have a favorite dry cure. Thanks

Im a convert. I used to use pops brine with much success. The diggingdogfarm method posted above is excellent, but found measuring and weighing and calculating every piece of meat and ingredients was tedious. The tenderquick method buzzy posted that Bear uses is by far much more simple. However... tenderquick also has nitrate in it that is not needed or desirable for bacon. Morton does not recommend it for use in bacon. The USDA does not allow the use of nitrate in commercially produced bacon. There is a tenderquick substitute you can make that does not have nitrate in it, and can be used at the same 1T per lb of meat. (also by diggingdogfarm).

17.5 oz salt (I use pickling salt)
5.0 oz sugar
2 oz cure #1

It's super easy to use...…
For dry curing....use one tablespoon (1/2 oz.) per pound of meat.
For curing ground meats such as sausage....use 1/2 tablespoon (1/4 oz.) per pound of meat...it provides ALL the cure and the salt for the recipe.....no additional salt is needed.

I add 1-2 additional Tablespoons of brown sugar for every Tablespoon of tenderquick substitute for bacon, ham, Canadian bacon, buckboard bacon etc. Mix together and coat the meat and place in a ziplock bag flipping daily.

Simple, safe, takes up less space, and OH SO DELICIOUS!