Brisket Question for a MGS 30"

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

scooper

Smoking Fanatic
Original poster
May 20, 2011
Boca Raton, FL
I am planning my first brisket for Christmas dinner, along with a spiral ham and some BB's.  I am doing an all night smoke for the brisket to make room for the ham and BB's in the morning. 

I have a Masterbuilt Gas 30".  I am going to get a packer brisket at Restaurant Depot.  I know that it will not fit without some trimming, or separating the point from the flat.

I really want to leave the point and flat together for maximum thickness so it will not dry out.  In order for it to fit into the 30", will it be okay if I cut part of the flat off so the whole brisket will fit into the 30" easier? 

I love burnt ends, and do not mind if I have a good size hunk of them from the cut off piece of flat.  They'll make it into the pot o' beans if there's any left after snacking on them.

Or am I over thinking it?  Is separating the flat and point a better option?  (I'm wanting sliced, not pulled.)

I always separate the point & flat before i smoke them. You get a lot more smoke penetration. IMHO!

icon_cool.gif

I'm with Raptor on this one and say that you should cut off some of the flat. The thin section. Leave the point and flat attached for maximum moisture while smoking.

Al, does the flat retain moisture if separated?
I have never had a problem with the flat drying out, but I always put the brisket on the bottom rack & the trimmed off fat on a rack above it, so it drips on the brisket while it cooks.