another first fridge build

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

chipmunk

Original poster
Mar 17, 2015
Howdy ya all, my name is gona be chipmunk, and I'm a newbie to this forum. First let me say that folks like scooter magoo (sorry if I mis spelled) and a lot of other brothers and sisters of bbq on this site have helped enormously on my build. It seems to me that I have to ask a stupid question which is has any one out there ever built a smoker thas uses a pellet pooper for higher temp. smoking, and a electric element with a separate pid controller for low temp smoking. Got myself a pellet pro hopper system from Smoke Daddy (looks killer) ,thinking  that would cover most all of my smoking needs, but as everyone knows,building your own smoker makes you smarter, so now I'm wandering  since the pellet pro in my 50's era Frigidare  sounds like it probably wont be able to get down to the temps I'm looking for to do salmon proper, is there something I'm missing, or am I regressing to my pre-build stupidity?

Same Here another stick burner    Good Luck Though

Gary

Thats exactly what i did pellet hopper for 200 plus temps and brinkman with auber dual pid for colder smokes. Ill post pics when im done with paint

Now that's what I'm talkin about!  In a former life I was in the custom paint world, murals, graphics and such, but a lot has changed over the years,not so sure i'll go down that road, but what I'm considering is a camo wrap, pretty spendy though!

Why don't you just go electric with the smoke daddy or amzn for all your smoking need. I have a dual auberins controller and an 1500w element and it gets as hit as I want or it stays at ambient temp. Sounds complicated to have 2 heating sources in the same unit.