What Should I Sous Vide First?

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

Preacher Man

Smoking Fanatic
Original poster
Sep 28, 2018
Where The River Runs Through It
Just got my WiFi Sous Vide from @Inkbirdbbq in the mail yesterday evening. I'm totally new to Sous Vide and I'm asking for y'all's advice on a good inaugural cut of meat and recipe.

IMG_20190529_174328.jpg

I vote chuck roast, awesome hot roast beef sammies. Follow Bears step by step.

I'd also keep it simple. Get some NY Strips...season them...bag them...and cook at 132 for 1.5-2 hours then sear in a hot cast iron pan or grill.

Reactions: JC in GB
The best results I've had is with fresh chicken breasts.. Add the meat to a zip bag, add seasonings and veggie stock.. Place a weight in the bottom of the bag so it doesn't float... Clip the bag to the rim of the water oven leaving the top open so air gets expelled... I sous-vide at 138 for 4 1/2 hours...
They can be sliced for sandwiches, diced into salads, what ever... delicious, tender and juicy...
USDA weights

I'm with daveomak on this one: chicken breasts. Why? Because the result is very different from what you can get with any other technique. The reason? Because you cook them at a completely different temperature from what you can do with normal cooking. Dave recommended 138° F, but I go just slightly higher at 142°. Either way, this is far below the finished temperature of 160°-165° recommended with normal cooking methods. You end up with a texture and taste that is much better than conventional cooking. I love using the chicken made this way as an ingredient in something else, like a chicken salad sandwich.