What are your ratios: salt:fish weight and time.

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

mattree

Original poster
Aug 2, 2018
I'm a bit hit and miss with my dry cure salmon process (I cold smoke). Sometimes it's great, sometimes it's oversalted as hell.

As a newbie, I see all over the internet, lots of different quantities of salt : fish lbs and curing time. Some recipes pack on the cure and leave it for 2 hrs, or 4, or 6. Some sprinkle and leave for 48 hrs. Seems like a lot of variance.

I know the sugar:salt ratio is a bit of personal taste so I'll leave that aside. I'm interested to know if anyone has a rule of thumb for lbs salmon : salt ratios, and how long you need to leave it to cure?

If there's a "right amount" of salt to add based on the fish weight that means I can't overcure another poor fillet, I'd love to hear it!

ps. I've just discovered SmokinAl SmokinAl 's lox recipe and can't wait to try it. 5lbs fish : 1.5 cups kosher salt : 1.5 cups sugar. It cures for 48 hrs, but maybe you could do less?

Go ahead and leave it for the 48 hours. Don't confuse brining and curing when it comes to time.

If I am brining fish I go with a dry brine and simply leave it overnight and hot smoke until an internal temperature of 140. Note there is no cure in this.