Traditional offset, top down cooking, to baffle or not to baffle

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

1975amokin

Original poster
Oct 4, 2022
For folks that prefer offsets that cook top down with collector at grate level what’s the general consensus on baffles? Seems like no baffle or a short baffle makes the most sense, but curious on everyone’s take! Thanks all!

Considering this for a 24x48 cooker fwiw.

I recently removed the baffle from my offset smoker it’s a cos but it did cook better and in my opinion created a way better smoke profile. I’m no expert and look forward to see what others have to say about this.

I think it depends on your offset. I think a high quality offset would likely be already set up with what would be ideal, whether it be with a baffle or without. I have a OK Joe Highland which cooks better with the aftermarket baffle I installed. Good luck.

Reactions: 1975amokin
I recently removed the baffle from my offset smoker it’s a cos but it did cook better and in my opinion created a way better smoke profile. I’m no expert and look forward to see what others have to say about this.
Yeah this is my feeling- def curious if the pros in here agree

Reactions: Marknmd
I replaced my old CharGriller with an OK Joe's Highland this spring and rigged a baffle of sorts with a couple of the plates I had for the old one. It doesn't really do much with the pit temps (The OK is much smaller), but it seems to make fire management easier and uses less wood.
baffled.jpg
I'm not exactly a newbie but I don't know what "top down with collector at grate level" means....