Smoking in Williamson County

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

jman1973

Original poster
Mar 19, 2014
   I recently move to Southern Illinois (Marion,IL) and purchased a weber performer gold, I always enjoyed grilling food and would like to smoke meats. I invested in a thermoworks thermometer,graycort cast iron inserts ( still on the way), the great meat cookbook by Bruce Aidells, Any advice or recommendations from the forum would be geartly appreciated. I am new to smoking meats.

Initial advice would be to lose the CAPS....then, sign up for the free smoking meats course offered here. Welcome to the SMF where most, if not all, of your smoking dreams can/will come true. Whatever your meat interest would be just type that into the handy dandy search bar above for numerous threads to appear, most with pics and lots of info, for you to go over and make notes to incorporate into your first smoking endeavor. Most of us have started with cheap chicken parts to experiment with, then maybe ante up for a pork butt, which is very forgiving of errors, before going for the more expensive cuts of brisket or ribs. HTH's.....enjoy your new adventure......Willie

Reactions: jman1973
Howdee Jman!  Get ya a fresh cup, kick off your shoes, put your feet back and relax. The search engine is an abundance of info, the forums are great and meat specific, the threads are usually relaxed and informative, some have Q-view. Its pretty easy to motivate around and find something that you either specifically want to cook, or be inspired by someone else's achievements.