Roll call

Discussion in 'Roll Call' started by kaliken, Nov 28, 2011.

1. kaliken

kaliken Newbie

Hello All, my name is Ken and I am from California (Los Angeles) to be exact. I am kind of new to smoking, but have smoked before with great results. I have just purchased a Brinkman Verticle smoker from Home Depot which I assume is a beginners smoker : ). Smoked my first Turkey this thanksgiving and it turn out ok though i know I need more practice to get it perfect. I am trying to expirement with different cuts of meats to see what works the best.That goes for the different woods and well. I used Apple wood to do the turkey and its was nice.Hopefully i am in a place where I can get all the great help needed to become a great smoker of meat and I welcome all the advice i can get.Please tell me how to add pics on this site so I can post a pic of my turkey. thanks :)

2. pineywoods

pineywoods Smoking Guru Staff Member Administrator Group Lead SMF Premier Member

Welcome to SMF glad you joined us. You'll find lots of good information and some great recipes here. I would also suggest signing up for Jeff's 5 Day Ecourse it's free and has dome great info. Here's a link to how to post Qview/Pics but expect it to tell you it's being held for moderator approval that happens until you get x number of posts.

http://www.smokingmeatforums.com/a/how-to-upload-images-to-the-new-smf-format

3. alblancher

alblancher Master of the Pit Group Lead OTBS Member

Welcome

Ask away, we love questions. You started with Turkey, one of the more difficult projects so you have a good idea of what you are getting into.  What's next on your smoking menu?

4. [​IMG]  to SMF Ken. Glad you joined us.

All I can say is Read Read Read, then Ask Ask Ask, and then

of course Smoke Smoke Smoke. It all goes hand in hand.

Happy Smokin'

Mike

5. chef jimmyj

chef jimmyj Smoking Guru Staff Member Moderator Group Lead OTBS Member