Pulled pork from boneless leg of pork?

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

mvmaha

Original poster
May 10, 2019
Hi everyone, First post here. Have played around with smoking meats,etc off and on for a number of years, but now am living in Mexico for work and can't always easily find the cuts I'm looking for. Tomorrow we're trying for pulled pork sandwiches, but I only found a whole boneless leg of pork - the huge 20+ lb chunk of meat in the photo.
So I thought I'd try maybe cutting it in to 2-3 chunks, rub like you would a Boston butt, smoke 7-8 hours at around 275 deg, wrap in foil and hopefully finish in a few more hours.
I'm no expert on pulled pork, and this isn't a Boston butt. Can anyone tell me if the finished product will be anything like what you'd expect from pulled pork, or will it be more like ham? Any suggestions from someone who's tried this? How long might it take to get to pulled pork stage?

IMG_20190510_163132758_HDR.jpg

Looks like a Whole Shoulder. The entire front leg, Butt making up the left side of the pic and the Picnic Shoulder to the right. That will take about 1.5 hours per pound at 250-275, maybe a little less. No reason you can't cut it into smaller portions to save time. It will make fantastic Pulled Pork...JJ

Reactions: jcam222
OK That's good news! Thanks for your response. The package only says "boneless leg" in Spanish so maybe I lucked out and it's the whole shoulder which would be great.
Only thing is I don't know that we'll have time to do it justice. I'll cut it up a little and keep the temp up. Does anyone wrap in foil the last few hours like brisket to speed up the process some?