PID for MES 40 - what is one that will work and not real expensive

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

hoity toit

Master of the Pit
Original poster
OTBS Member
SMF Premier Member
Got to put a PIS controller on my old MES. Need a referral for something that will go to 350 or more and be able to handle 1200 watts / 10-15 amps at 120 volt. Will also need it to come with the sensor. Any body out there point me in the right direction. I am an electrician so not worried about the details, just need to know what will work. Thanks in advance.

HT

Reactions: SonnyE
are you wanting one just for hot cooking (steady temp).. or do you make and smoke sausage (ramp temps up slowly feature ) ... Do you want a plug and play or would you like to build your own (a lil cheaper) ...

the problem with trying to get the MES'S that hot is the heat elements they have aren't big enough .. at least the 30's not.... not sure about the 40 ...

HT,
Not a good idea to do that with a MES.
They throttle them to ~320 with a snap disc, in the first place.
Many pictures have been posted where somebody removed the back and there was crispy foam insulation in there.
But if you want to get HOT, I've got what can get HOT.
How about up to 400 degrees C?

I'd recommend you make a different box for high temperature work.
(The above ITC can go to 1350 degrees C)

Oh, and if you prefer F, you can get the same package HERE.

Last edited:
Auberins is a little more than I would like to spend giving the age of my unit.
I just bought that one posted for a five year old MES 30 . Only paid $149 for the smoker . Had the same thought as you , but if the smoker craps out all the way , I'll just put the controller on the new one .

HT,