New slow cooker, Looking to make perfect pulled chuck roast and brisket

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

68whiskey_ribeye

Original poster
Mar 3, 2020
Hi Everyone,

I'm new to slow cooking meats, looking for some help. A few weeks ago I was at the store are came across a giant beautiful piece meat for a great price called a chuck roast (about 2lbs). I bought without thinking about how to cook it, got how and googled the best way and found out it wasn't going be anything like cooking a medium rare ribeye! I threw it in my conventional oven (sadly all I have in my apartment with no backyard) at 250F just on a cooking pan with a piece of aluminum foil. About 2 hours in I opened and saw this amazing bark had formed. I then wrapped in foil with beef broth, waited about 3-4 hours (didn't have a thermometer) pulled it, let it rest for 15 mins, and it was amazing! Practically pulled, tasted more like a pot roast, but freaking delicious, juicy and tender. Since then I've fallen in love with slow cooking and I want to make a chuck roast and brisket at least once a week.