• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.

Masterbuilt 140S vs 20070311

njsmoker67

Joined May 24, 2018
Im completely new to smoking. im looking at the masterbuilt 40" to be my first electric smoker. i see everywhere has the 20070311 for around $320ish and then see the 20072618 140S from Academy for $199.99. whats the difference between the two? they look similar. not sure whats the difference when i compare them. sorry if this has been asked before. i saw posts here but got lost in it all. made me more confused.

thank you
andrew

Bearcarver

SMF Hall of Fame Pitmaster
OTBS Member
SMF Premier Member
Group Lead
Joined Sep 12, 2009
Im completely new to smoking. im looking at the masterbuilt 40" to be my first electric smoker. i see everywhere has the 20070311 for around $320ish and then see the 20072618 140S from Academy for $199.99. whats the difference between the two? they look similar. not sure whats the difference when i compare them. sorry if this has been asked before. i saw posts here but got lost in it all. made me more confused.

thank you
andrew

It would help if you give a link to show which one for $199 you're talking about.

Here's how to tell them apart & my thoughts on the various models:
Masterbuilt Smokers (Bear's Thoughts & Findings)
MES Generation Number Recognition Pictures & Pics (Digital Units)

Bear

SonnyE

Master of the Pit
OTBS Member
SMF Premier Member
Joined Dec 13, 2017

thank you
andrew
Hi Andrew, Welcome to SMF!
The 40 inch model is highly prided here.
I lookied around but for what I wanted, and where I was going, and especially since I'm basically an Island here with my smoked meats love, I scaled back, and refined, and got a fairly basic digital MES 30.
Then, after one smoke in it, I corrected the things that were wrong about it for my specific needs.