• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.

Jalapeno Bacon Polish (Q-View)!!!

papa chops

Smoke Blower
Joined Mar 10, 2013
I doubled deejay's recipe http://www.deejayssmokepit.net/SausageDownloads_files/RC-Sausages2012.pdf  its 41 on the card. I mixed 2lbs ground beef, 2lbs ground pork, 1lb bacon. I rounded up on the measurements of all the spices and added 1 tsp instacure 1 and a 1/4c nonfat powdered milk. Mixed the spice and cure with 1/2 c ice water, seasoned and ground meats a second time. I small diced 5 large Jalapeno's and threw them in as well. I stuffed it in hog casings then hung it overnight to cure and smoked it today with some peach. We cut a peach tree down at work so I ran it through the chipper into a trailer. Its my first time using it, and i liked it. Even the wife said it was nice. Had em at 130deg for the first 45min then 165 for a few hours then finished them off at 185. Ice bath'd em for 5 min. Then hung back up and in the smoker and fan dried them for about an hour. Im definitely making this again In A MUCH BIGGER BATCH! I love it, Enjoy 

stanjk

Smoke Blower
Joined Nov 13, 2007
Great job on the sausage! Nice touch adding the Jalapeno peppers. I'll have to try that next time I make my regular Polish smoked sausage. Thanks! 

papa chops

Smoke Blower
Joined Mar 10, 2013
Thanks stanjk. I left rib and seeds in for good measure. I wanted them to be good and spicy (and they are)! lol

bdskelly

Smoking Guru
OTBS Member
SMF Premier Member
★ Lifetime Premier ★
Joined Feb 3, 2013
Oh man… That looks so good!

reinhard

Master of the Pit
OTBS Member
Joined Feb 6, 2013
I bet those were tasty!! Love the added peppers. Next time i make bacon summer i'm adding jalapenos.  Reinhard

papa chops

Smoke Blower
Joined Mar 10, 2013