Introducing, well.......me!

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

kilchis

Original poster
Sep 16, 2008
NW Oregon
Hi folks. Great site you have here. I'm an old coot, know my way around a kitchen a bit, and have smoked many many of pounds of salmon, steelhead and trout over the last 45 years. I am a noob to smoking meats.

Up here in Oregon (ORy-gun, NOT Or-ee-gone) I haven't found any restaurant barbecued meat that isn't dry as rawhide and about as tender, so I decided to learn to fix it myself. I tried some oven rib recipes that were ok, but not great; tried a couple of boil-em-first recipes and discovered that was just a crime against nature, so started surfing the web and found SMF.

I've been lurking for a couple of months picking off tips here and there because I really wanted to give slow cooking a try. I was trying to decide what sort of smoker to buy when a friend asked me if I wanted his small block GOSM. He used it once for salmon, didn't like the result and put it away. Then his kid gave him a used Trager and he decided the GOSM was just taking up too much space. I was happy to solve his problem. I didn't even have to put it together!

Thanks to some of you my first run of pig ribs on the GOSM was a great success and subsequent batches of pork and beef have been even better.
My hat is off to you, and I hope that sometime I can offer something in return. I know that somewhere around here I have recipes for 12 feet of meatloaf and similar odds and ends left over from a couple of summers cooking for camps for handicapped kids back in the 70's, if anybody needs to feed, say, a hundred folks.

See you in the forums,
John