How do you know when venison is "done" ?

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

red sled

Fire Starter
Original poster
Dec 26, 2017
I was gifted some whitetail venison and was considering two ways to cook it. One would be slicing the loin cross-grain and wrapping them in bacon and either baked in the oven or pan fried. The other option would be the same prep and cooked in my new MBES 30" , but I'm a total newbie to the MBES as I just got it for Christmas.

I've heard that since venison is so lean, it is easy to over-cook it. How does one know when it is "done" or safe to eat ?

Just an option we do, we cook em up in the cast iron skillet with a bit of bacon grease & seasoned with a dash of SPOG! We usually pull em at IT of bout 132* & let rest for a few. Finished IT is bout 134-135* which is perfect for us!

Here's a recent venison steak & CI cook my daughter done if your interested.

https://smokingmeatforums.com/threads/daughters-first-ci-cook.270999/

Last edited:
Sounds good. Hot pan ,sear the medallions in olive oil ... salt and pepper with melted garlic butter on top.. leave pink inside for sure. 130°
Whole piece seared in cast iron pan all over , then finished in 350- 400 oven to 130?

Thank you all for the informative replies. Anxious to try them out !