• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.

Hmong-ish dinner - testing the new inkbird SV

S-met

Smoking Fanatic
Joined Jul 1, 2019
I'm no expert at Thai, Lao, Hmong cuisine, but I'm a quick study. My Hmong friends can't believe some white guy made it.
Clockwise: SV pork belly then sauteed with Japanese eggplant and onions in a reduced soy glaze. Soured bamboo salad and Beef knuckles SV until tender then minced with onions and my laab seasoning blend over a bed of mixed greens. No rice (trying to watch carbs) but would normally serve with steamed purple sticky rice.
20190925_183634.jpg

chef jimmyj

Epic Pitmaster
Staff member
OTBS Member
SMF Premier Member
★ Lifetime Premier ★
Group Lead
Joined May 12, 2011
Looks great. Soured Bamboo as in Fermented or the Dressing is Sour?
Willing to share the recipes?...JJ

tallbm

Smoking Guru
OTBS Member
★ Lifetime Premier ★
Joined Dec 30, 2016
I'm no expert at Thai, Lao, Hmong cuisine, but I'm a quick study. My Hmong friends can't believe some white guy made it.
Clockwise: SV pork belly then sauteed with Japanese eggplant and onions in a reduced soy glaze. Soured bamboo salad and Beef knuckles SV until tender then minced with onions and my laab seasoning blend over a bed of mixed greens. No rice (trying to watch carbs) but would normally serve with steamed purple sticky rice.
View attachment 406880
Man that looks great!

I'm not an eggplant guy but I would definitely destroy the rest of it! :D

S-met

Smoking Fanatic
Joined Jul 1, 2019
Looks great. Soured Bamboo as in Fermented or the Dressing is Sour?
Willing to share the recipes?...JJ
The bamboo is slightly soured. I don't know the full process as we get it from our friends parents. We trade goods, I got the bamboo for spicy frog balls (pickled brussel sprouts).
But some stores carry sour bamboo like the one in the link.