Hi Smokers!

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

bamadoug

Original poster
Sep 13, 2013
I am new here to enjoy the wisdom of you experienced "Smokers".  Hmm.. you may want to correct me on this.  How do I distinguish between people who smoke things "Smokers" and the instrument they use to smoke things "smokers"? :-)

Hi, you may have guessed that I am from Alabama.  I'm not experienced with smoking but have done some grilling.  I don't really have a smoker, just a charcoal grill with a smoker box attached.  I came to this site because I committed to smoking some ribs and chicken for a home event and didn't know what I was doing.  I was looking for some good advice on how long and what temp to smoke the meat.  

This site is loaded with advice, unfortunately, I didn't follow it well and the ribs were overcooked.  The chicken was cooked OK because I noticed the inside meat temp got to 165 pretty fast, so I removed the chicken after about 3 hours.  I was surprised that it reached that temp so fast with my smoke averaging in the 210 range.  I guess one out of two is OK for a first time, but I am hoping for better soon.

Thanks, Jeff, for the welcome message and thanks to all you who post informative information here.

:welcome1: to SMF!!! We're happy you joined us! We have over 50,000 members now who just love to share what they know. You've come to the best place on the net to learn and share everything Q!!!

texas.gif
Hello, and Welcome from East Texas. This is a great site, lots of good information and great people.

Gary

welcome1.gif
to SMF!  We are so glad you joined us! We have a group for Alabama Members...would love for you to join us!  We are hoping to plan a "get together" soon!