Hello from South Florida ( Palm Beach County )

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

EaOutlaw1969

Meat Mopper
Original poster
Oct 25, 2019
Lake Worth, Florida
Hi everyone I am a ex Mechanic forced into early retirement because of multiple failed back and neck surgeries. I am a new here but not to BBQ, Smoking, or just eating good food.
I am here to learn more and perhaps make some friends along the way that share a common passion.

I have multiple reasons for embracing Smoking foods and BBQ in general,first and foremost I love my Wife but because of my disability and pain level she does more than the lions share of work around the house. in fact most of the time I am couch bound all day and she has to do more for me than any Wife should ever have to put up with for that I am very grateful, With this in mind if I can take the load off her in anyway while I feel good enough to contribute I like to do so in a way that makes her and her taste buds happy.

Other reasons I have embraced BBQ and smoking foods is to bring the heat outside to help keep our electric bill down, maintain consistent Air conditioning temperatures and provide meal preparation alternatives during power outages from Hurricanes.

With storm preparation in mind it is important to me to have the ability to Smoke meats for food preservation with multiple fuels ( Charcoal and propane ) during major storm events even the threat of one will tax local resources, Fuel for generators, Propane, and Charcoal become scarce valuable commodities So I cannot count on having any one fuel source on hand when needed.