Hello everyone!!!

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

BeakerAthena

Original poster
Apr 22, 2019
I've been smoking meat and veggies for quite a few years, but Brisket is still a new territory for me...I need help with my Brisket question.
I have a Masterbuilt Sportsman Elite 30in Electric Smoker.
With that being said, know that I 'learned and self-taught' myself on a real smoker.
Brisket is a meat that I haven't dabbled in too much. I have smoked a small brisket, about 8lbs before and came out ok. Still working on that.

I purchased a 17.5lbs, whole brisket today, and plan to start smoking it on Friday night for Saturday meal. I will have to cut it in half in order to fit properly in my 30” smoker.
I have read that I should smoke my brisket at 225 - 250 degrees, about one hour per pound of meat. Internal temp 155-165 stall, and I can wrap in peach butcher paper at that time until it hits 205 internal temperature (butcher paper instead of foil to save bark). So excited to be doing this.

My question is….will my smoking time change because I have the brisket cut in half? OR should I continue to plan for about an hour per pound? HELP. Thanks in advance.

I would say the hour per pound per the weight after you have cut it in half. Again your IT temp will still be 200+ each piece and the smaller thinner piece will be done first. So keep an eye on it.

Warren

Awesome. So, not to be a big dummy, but say 9-10 hours, flat being done earlier... right?
I think I've got it.