Grinding question

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

vt dukhntr

Fire Starter
Original poster
Jan 1, 2012
Vermont
I'm new to smoking and have never made sausage.  BUT....I want to make snack sticks from wild duck and goose. 

Enough with the intros though.....I'm wondering what is an acceptable amount of material to run through a Kitchen Aide?  I already own a KA and the grinding attachment. (wife bought it thinking it was something else).  I would need a tube for stuffing.  I'm looking to start small and see how a few small batches work, then look at investing in a real grinder.  Can the KA handle 5-10 pound batches done infrequently?  Or is it better suited for even smaller grinds?

Thanks in advance

Dave

Well the kitchen aid done me well for many years. the grinder should have come with stuffer tubes. I have done up to 12 lbs that i remember in them. I would recomend not over heating them though. If it starts to smell warm or the head fells warm give it a break.

I'm new to smoking and have never made sausage.  BUT....I want to make snack sticks from wild duck and goose. 

Enough with the intros though.....I'm wondering what is an acceptable amount of material to run through a Kitchen Aide?  I already own a KA and the grinding attachment. (wife bought it thinking it was something else).  I would need a tube for stuffing.  I'm looking to start small and see how a few small batches work, then look at investing in a real grinder.  Can the KA handle 5-10 pound batches done infrequently?  Yes. I don't own a KA but I have read members have good results with small batches.  Or is it better suited for even smaller grinds?