GMS Jim B Model

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

dcrosby007

Fire Starter
Original poster
Dec 24, 2013
Seminole Al
Well after several years of the old propane smoker I upgraded to the MBS... Well this week I have upgraded again & will be trying the GMS Jim B model... I am new to pellet smoking even though I have bought a AMNPS along with multiple lbs of pellets to use for my MBS40... My questions are more related to the pellets I can use than the actually product... My GMS purchase came with pellets made by the manufacturer of the smoker but after using the pellets for the AMNPS I'm at a crossroad... Seems GMS only has blended versions where with my AMNPS I was able to buy straight pecan, hickory or cherry & blend if i wanted to... So all this babble leads to can I still use the pellets sold by Todd @ AMNPS for the GMS or is the idea behind the pellet smoker change the type of pellets I am limited too... I don't want to buy cheap crap I want the best that will achieve the job of smoke, heat source & burn clean... If that is possible???

You can burn any kind of pellet made for pellet grills in your GMS including Todds Pellets. There are a ton of pellets out there that are blends and some that are 100% pure wood that you are looking for. A lot of people on here buy Lumberjack because they specifically tell you what they are on the bag. I so far have enjoyed the camp chef pellets since its hard for me to get my hands on lumberjack where I am at.

Reactions: dcrosby007
First of all, minor correction but it's GMG, not GMS.