Fruit Sauces for BBQ

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

bbqcanuck

Original poster
Hi All:

I am a newbie to this forum and have found so many great recipes already.  I would like to know if anyone has made a good BBQ from fruit.  I  live in Nova Scotia and am looking at incorporating local ingredients whenever possible.

I made a great mango smoked chipotle BBQ sauce for ribs and was a bit hit - I tried it with a few local people.  Not too sweet but had some heat.

The local fruit (just down the road where I live) I can get wild blueberries, peaches, cranberries, apples and of course pure local maple syrup.  Does anyone have BBQ recipes that could include fruit like the ones I listed.  Even a combo like maple cranberry would go great with smoked turkey or ribs. 

I was thinking of substituting peaches for the mango's but I have to make it to find if it works good.  It's winter here now so nothing local is available. 

If people are interested, I can post the recipe for the mango smoked chipotle sauce - I did get off the internet some time ago. 

Let me know of your ideas or what you have tried already.  Thanks a bunch.

I regularly use blueberry juice and chopped up peaches in my BBQ sauces when I am looking for something different.   I have found that you need a bit more sugar if the fruit is tart and that may give you a darker final product.  Want to do something neat brine a turkey in blueberry juice.    Love the color of the bird!

I occasionally make a peach sauce with pulled pork that is always a popular condiment.
[h3]Peach Sauce[/h3]
  • 10 ounces frozen peaches , cut into 1-inch chunks (about 2 cups) or 2 fresh peaches, cut into 1/2-inch wedges
  • 2 cups dry white wine
  • 1/2 cup granulated sugar