Desperately need advice!!

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

ufert

Fire Starter
Original poster
Feb 1, 2014
East Alton, Illinois
Hi I am new to the smoking game and need serious help. I have a 9lb pork butt I need to have ready for the Super Bowl tomorrow and I have to work 6pm-6am tonight. I don't believe I will have time to get it done by game time starting at 7am. Can I have my wife start it in the oven on a low temp early in the morning until I get home to get it in the smoker and still have it come out smokey and good?? I am using a Cajun Injector Electric smoker. Thanks for any help!!

Last edited:
I would prefer  you start it in the smoker today and then let her finish it in the oven.   You  have an electric smoker so you can get 3 or 4 hours of smoke on it before you leave for work wrap in foil and let her place it  in the oven.   I am sure she can watch it while you are gone if need be. 

In your situation I'd smoke it today.  Get a good 5-6 hours in the smoker with wood then transfer to the over to finish cooking it (or let your wife finish it in the smoker).  Pull it out and don't pull it when it is done.  Foil it and put it in the fridge.  About 3-4 hours before the game, put it in the oven with a little apple juice or finishing sauce covered in aluminum foil at around 275F.  Get the temp back to ~160F, remove from the oven, and then pull it.

Thanks guys for all the advice guys it's really appreciated. Is it possible to set the smoker at 275 to get some good bark and smoke for 5 or 6 hrs on it at first and transfer to the oven at 275 or a little higher to finish and still get a good result??