1. Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.

"DANGER" WILL ROBINSON "DANGER"

Discussion in 'Pork' started by JckDanls 07, Aug 13, 2019.

1. JckDanls 07

JckDanls 07 Smoking Guru Group Lead OTBS Member

So I've been making homemade pork rinds for 4 or 5 years now... I buy the pork skin at a local Mexican store.. $1.99 a lb ... I've followed TheMule69 thread to make my pellets...
    https://www.smokingmeatforums.com/threads/pork-rind-pellets-from-scratch.131873/

So I just made up 3 1/2 lbs worth of skin into pellets... Let me tell you... If anybody is going to give this a go... find a way to boil the skins OUTSIDE... They will damn sure stink the house up... That's the first warning...

The second warning ??? He (themule69) uses a CI skillet to fry his pellets in.. I use the deep fryer ... but I got to thinking ... "I wonder how these would work in the Air Fryer" ... UMMMMM....

NOT TO WELL... They popped open like popcorn and then stuck to the heat element and started to burn... stinking really bad... luckily I quick unplugged it before it started a fire... LOL...

So please take it from a voice of experience and don't try to make pork rinds in the air fryer...

HalfSmoked and yodelhawk like this.
  2. sigmo

sigmo Smoking Fanatic ★ Lifetime Premier ★

That's gotta stink, too! When you really burn any protein, it really smells nasty.

Even the deep frying is something I'd do out on my deck. The splatter helps seal the redwood, and the oil vapor won't attach to everything in the house making it smell for months.

Good warning! Thanks.

3. BuckeyeSteve

BuckeyeSteve Smoke Blower

Haha.... Thanks for the flashback. I bet a lot of people here have no idea who Will Robinson is. I'd feel pretty old but, I had a DeLorean take me back 30 years.

Last edited: Aug 13, 2019
    Steve H likes this.
  4. chilerelleno