Buffalo vs Beef

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

fire438

Original poster
May 10, 2012
Kansas
Have several buffalo briskets and some buffalo chuck roasts to smoke. I have done a great deal of pork, chicken and beef but never smoked buffalo. I am thinking that I can use the same strategy and cooking temps as beef. But would like some input from some of the members who may have some tips for smoking buffalo.

I am no expert with smoking buffalo but i know the meat tends to be drier than beef so you might want to inject some type of broth into the meat.

Never done Buffalo before. I brought popcorn and I'll be watching!

Buffalo brisket... Wow! That could get super dry but also has the potential to be really flavorful! The chuck is much more forgiving. So I'm thinking chuckie burnt ends... In fact I would be inclined to separate the point on the brisket and make that into into burnt ends too. The flat I would grind for burger. Yeah... I know its not smoked, but would make some of the best burgers EVER! Of course you can smoke the burgers for a bit too.

Thanks, I know it will be drier so will plan on lots of injection and then wrap it in foil and place in cooler for a while when it gets close to done temperature. It should be done at the same temp as beef I would assume but you know what assuming does. I like the burnt ends idea too. If I think of it Ill get some pictures but I'm usually feeding my stick burner with one hand and have a beer in the other.