Brisket Flat Collagen?

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

JohnnySunnn

Original poster
Nov 11, 2017
California
Hi guys! I am somewhat new to smoking in California. I recently bought a Weber Kettle (GREEN IS SICK) with a Slow n Sear. I have done brisket twice now and I feel like I have done all the right things. Trimmed it nice, smoked about 13 hours at around 230, and brought it to an IT temp of about 196 (cause the first one i did to 195 and flat was a little tough still). I wrapped it 2x and placed it in an ice box to rest for about 1 hour. I took it out and the point was nice and juicy and the fat was tender the lean parts were pretty good there too. However, the flat alone which I would have thought to cook faster and had it temp of around 197 would not pull apart easily. The bend test on my finger turned out very well dropping about vertically on my finger. I could still see some white (im assuming collagen) when i try to pull the meat apart holding it together. I am not completely sure why. Thoughts? Thank you!

Just some pics for reference. The flat i sliced didn't have the accordion effect and was a little tough (not that easy to pull) but the fat in the point was rendered (IT WAS A MEAT WATERFALL)

Attachments

• IMG_2606.PNG
    IMG_2606.PNG
    701.3 KB · Views: 122
  • Screen Shot 2017-11-11 at 7.14.46 AM.png
    Screen Shot 2017-11-11 at 7.14.46 AM.png
    1.2 MB · Views: 117
Brisket is done when you can insert a toothpick or other similar pointy object into the meat and there is name resistance. I’ve had this happen anywhere from 185-205. It sounds as if you needed a bit more time for this particular hunk of meat.

Reactions: JohnnySunnn